The board will go into error 3 if you are exceeding the max capacity of the battery. This can occur when going downhill at a 100% charge due to regenerative braking. If you live on top of a hill, you can avoid this by going into the Onewheel App Settings and toggle an alert to be notified when your board charges up to 90% on your charger. This will allow you to disconnect your board before it is completely charged to allow you to start riding immediately downhill and not overcharge your battery.
If you find yourself needing to ride downhill and have a full charge, ride uphill or on a flat level for a bit to discharge partially before riding downhill.
If Error 3 is occurring during normal riding or when connected to the charger contact us so we can look into why it is occurring.
Below is a step by step guide to turning on both the Regeneration Warning and Charging State Warning:
Opening the side menu in the Onewheel App:
Press on the Notifications & Settings option:
On this page, you'll see the Regeneration Threshold Alert. This warning can be toggled on to alert you when you are reaching a certain capacity of recharge while riding downhill (Make sure you have push notifications turned on so you will feel the vibration or alert from your pocket!).
Below the toggle, you will see the percentage of charge required for this alert, by pressing on the percentage you can adjust down to as low as 97%:
Charging State Warning can be toggled on, this option will send you an alert for when the board reaches 90% charge. This option is very useful if you live on a hill so you can disconnect the charger, allowing you start going downhill right away and don't have to worry about draining the board prior to your descent:
Note that this does not automatically disconnect the charger, so you will receive an app notification while within Bluetooth range of your board. If you want to take the board off with plenty of room to spare before riding downhill, we recommend paying attention for the notification to disconnect the charger as quickly after you get the notification as possible as the board will continue to charge until you do.